College Lesson #2: Leggings are most certainly pants

Leggings–are they pants? This is a controversy that has plagued the Internet since I started college. If you had asked me this question while I was in high school, my answer would have been a solid no. Nope. No way José. tumblr_mkxkvhe54v1rc113po1_250Leggings were most certainly not pants… half the time girls don’t buy a good pair and they’re see through. No, honey, I don’t want to see your hot pink thong stuck in your butt crack. No thank you.

Guys, I’m sure, would beg to differ with this opinion. Leggings seem to fall into the category with yoga pants that guys love so much. Basically make you look like you have a nice ass even if you don’t really have a nice ass–or an ass at all for that matter. It’s like magic!

Bam! Instant ass.

Bam! Instant tush.

Let’s just say that my opinion has changed drastically. I love leggings. I own so many pairs. They’re my favorite! They’re cute, they tuck well into boots (a problem I have faced in the past) and, most importantly, THEY’RE COMFORTABLE. Comfort is key, my friends, especially when I’m spending hours upon hours in the library. I have gone over an entire month without wearing jeans. I’m not lying. I might have a problem. But the first step is admitting it, right?

Like the “stereotypical white girl” that memes, Buzzfeed lists, and ThoughtCatalog posts endlessly make fun of, I wear leggings, boots, sweaters, and scarves on a regular basis. This is probably (read: hopefully) the only criteria I fit with regard to this stereotype. You won’t find me spending obscene amounts of money on $6 drinks from Starbucks nor will you see me sporting a huge Michael Kors watch on my left wrist or ruining my pair of nonexistent UGGs by walking around in the Ithaca snow.

The Internet has this one wrong, that’s for sure–leggings most certainly ARE pants. Leggings FTW.

20 Comments on “College Lesson #2: Leggings are most certainly pants”

  1. Austin says:

    I learn so much by reading your blog! ;)

  2. Selina Beck says:

    That is so funny because when I first saw leggings come out in highschool I thought the same thing! Now I love them!

  3. hahaha gah you just reminded me of about 4 faculty meetings we had JUST THIS SCHOOL YEAR of male principals trying to awkwardly explain the difference between tights, leggings, jeggings, and pants. Verdict: pants as long as there’s a long top covering that scary girl crotch area. Such a fickle piece of clothing :-)

  4. They are pants. And I don’t even wear them.

  5. I totally agree! I love leggings :)

  6. The Cutter says:

    I should have hung out with girls like you in college. It is actually a turn off when girls clearly spent an hour of prep time just to go to the library. Low maintenance all the way!

  7. rosariok says:

    I am so glad there are people that agree that leggings are most certainly PANTS!!
    It’s all I wear everyday. Leggings are so comfortable and go with everything, that’s why I have 50 pairs.

    • samantha045 says:

      My collection has been growing and growing. But you nailed it–they go with EVERYTHING! Like right now I’m wearing a pair of fleece lined leggings… you can’t get jeans like that!

      • rosariok says:

        I have tossed all my jeans. I have committed to wear leggings everyday for a full year and this is day 301. I want to show that there isn’t any occassion where leggings cannot be worn as pants to prove those that preach leggings are not pants. Wear did you find fleeze lined leggings? I have several pairs of fleeze lined footless tights that are so cozy and warm. They don’t have seams down the legs and a double seam at the butt but other then that they can pass as leggings. I would love to add a few pairs of fleeze lined leggings to add to my collection. We need more articles like yours that support leggings being worn as pants.

        • samantha045 says:

          I haven’t been able to completely toss my jeans… but most of the ones I happen to wear ARE jeggings, so I’m not sure if that counts. As for the fleece lined leggings… I forget where I got them. A flea market, maybe? I’m wearing them right now and they’re so toasty :)

          • rosariok says:

            Not sure about jeggings I don’t own any. I am jealous that I don’t have fleece lined leggings. It’s very cold today so I am wearing fleece line tights to work because they are so warm and cozy. I love to dress comfortably but tights as pants who would of thought. Hope I don’t meet up with any of those “tights are not pants” vigilantes. LOL :)

  8. Have you ever thought about writing an ebook or guest authoring on other blogs?
    I have a blog centered on the same topics you discuss and would really like to have you share some
    stories/information. I know my readers would enjoy your work.
    If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e mail.


Leave a Reply

