College Lesson #1: You’re not meant to stay friends with everyone

In keeping with my promise to update my blog more, I’ve decided to do a series on all of the things and lessons that I have learned since getting to college. I don’t know if it’s because I only have on semester left on the Hill and I’m getting a bit nostalgic or because I have reached (more like skidded to with a screeching halt) these conclusions very recently. Some of these will be funny, some will be serious… either way, I want to compile a list of all of the little tidbits of information I have collected over the course of my time at Cornell.

This is a lesson I have most certainly learned this past semester–you’re not meant to stay friends with everyone who crosses your path. It just won’t happen. No matter how bad you want to stay friends with said person, it is just not meant to be. This could be because of drama, because you grow apart, because of boys, or you each have different interests than you had originally. These things happen. And you know what? Sometimes I don’t care. Sometimes it’s good to remove these people from your life. Sometimes I have absolutely no desire to pursue the friendship any further. That sometimes for me is right now.

Unfortunately, I did lose some best friends this year, particularly at the hands of drama. Somehow I managed to avoid drama my ENTIRE COLLEGE CAREER until this semester when it all caught up to me and managed to makeup for lost time (my luck, right?). I think that says enough in terms of my avoiding drama–I always try to stay out of it, not taking sides, listening to everyone. I realize I may be going directly against what I just said by writing this post, but whatever. Another thing I’ve learned in connecting with this little lesson? Girls are bitches. And catty and malicious and mean.

tumblr_matavfuYEH1rpfz4uo1_500

Seriously though, girls are the worst. They’re passive aggressive–no confrontation at all (not to say that I’m not guilty of avoiding confrontation at times). Yes, leaving post-it notes is a much more appropriate route, really. Very cute.  Another super cute thing that girls do? Lie. Spread rumors. RUIN FRIENDSHIPS. Yup, I said it. Lies told about me almost ruined one of my closest friendships. Thank god I was able to mend that one after explaining WHAT ACTUALLY HAPPENED and that no, I did not know that so-and-so who was “together” with so-and-so but slept with so-and-so, BECAUSE I WAS NOT PHYSICALLY THERE WHEN IT HAPPENED. Like not even in the state of New York. So there was no way that I would know. But apparently I’m too self-centered to pay attention to what’s going with my friends. Right. But I digress.

Judging by my little rant, I’m sure you have an idea of what I’ve been going through and just how DUMB the high level drama is. Like seriously. I thought I outgrew this shit. Ugh but post it notes really get my goat (did I actually just use that expression?). AHKDOAIJFKLDJFLKAJDF. Literally. I don’t know how else to express my anger towards this.

I’m going to stop here before I get any angrier. There will be more on this later. Probably after this semester when I can go into much more detail. Ohhhh the anticipation! I know it’s killing you.

If I had to close this article with a piece of advice, it would most certainly be this: don’t live with your “best friend.” It won’t work. I learned the hard way.

11 Comments on “College Lesson #1: You’re not meant to stay friends with everyone”

  1. There is what you were mad about.

  2. The Cutter says:

    Yeah, as much as we’d like to remain close to all of our friends forever and ever, it simply doesn’t work out that way. People change, and the stuff that once caused us to be close is simply not there anymore.

    • samantha045 says:

      I know, it’s upsetting. While I do have friends that have been in my life for 10+ years and going strong, clearly some of the people I’ve met in my college career are not like those friends. They’ve basically ripped themselves from my life, causing me extreme pain and I can see that they were never really my friends to begin with. As embarrassing as it is for me to admit, they’ve caused me to shed a lot of tears–but no more. I’m not going to cry anymore for these people who are no longer important to me.

  3. Nicole says:

    THAT is why I always hung out with boys…so much easier!
    Although…I actually FOUND one of my best friends BECAUSE we lived together in College…
    “it’s all about finding people that are the same kind of crazy”…LOL! XOXO

  4. danastasiap says:

    “girls are bitches.”
    So sad… Yet, so true. It’s actually the EXACT reason I plan on becoming a cat lady someday. No drama.

  5. […] sure you guys remember my rant a few months ago about some issues I was having at school. I needed to get a lot off my chest or […]


Leave a Reply

