Happy Happy Joy Joy

Baby pictures are the best.

Baby pictures are the best.

This week, I decided to tackle the Daily Post Challenge–to post a picture of someone truly happy, no forced smiles or tense faces. My mind immediately went to this picture of me as a baby. This has to be one of my favorite photos.

Obviously I was young and I can’t remember what was going on. All I know, as of now, is that this was taken on my first trip to Florida to visit Disney World. (I don’t remember my second trip either… I think it’s time to relive my childhood) There’s something about this picture, though, that just makes me smile. I don’t know if it’s because it’s a picture of me and my dad or if it’s just because baby pictures are always the best kind. The candidness of baby pictures always gets me–it’s never forced and you’re not trying to make the picture something it’s not. Babies, no matter if there is a camera in front of them, always show how they’re feeling at that moment. Just like me in this picture. I look like I’m scared shitless–but I also look like I’m having the time of my life.

When a camera captures pictures like this, they provide such clarity and insight into a great moment. I know that this will always be one of my favorite picture. Buddy the Elf put it best: Smiling is my favorite.

3 Comments on “Happy Happy Joy Joy”

  1. I was actually in Orlando at Christmastime and the picture look eerily similar to a pool that was in our time share. I wrote 6 bitter blogs about it(one for each of the 4 disney parks, and 2 for the Universal Orlandos) but deep down inside I did have a great time.

  2. Buddy is very wise, and you were a cute baby. :D

  3. huge says:

    Just a fabulous picture and made me laugh. I love the ‘No Diving Allowed’ sign in the background too…


Leave a Reply

