Go home Ithaca, you’re drunk.

This week has been quite an interesting one. After coming out of a cold snap (and I’m talking -20 wind chill here), Ithaca decided to change it’s ways for the warmer. How do I feel about it? LOVE IT. I LOVE IT SO MUCH. I really hate the cold. Don’t ask me why I chose a school in upstate New York, because honestly, I wouldn’t be able to answer. I must be insane.

Seriously, what is this?

Seriously, what is this?

So anyway, between dying last week of the flu and dying of the freezing temperatures, I was looking for a little positivity in my life. I was super sick and not the happiest about classes starting, so anything was welcome. Ithaca decided to help me out–for once–and give me a little warm weather. Don’t get me wrong, I’m happy about it now, but in two days when it’s back to being 25? Not so much. Ithaca was a huge tease this week.

Now I want spring! I want spring MORE THAN ANYTHING. I want shorts and day drinking and tanning and flip flops. I want to not have to wear 9 layers just to go to class. I want it to be softball season so we can kick ass and win Ivy’s–that’s right, I’m talking to you Penn and Harvard. Watch out.  But seriously, IS THAT SO MUCH TO ASK DAMMIT?

Hell, I was even outside playing softball. IN JANUARY. In a t shirt and shorts. And I was perfectly warm. There is something wrong with this picture. I was ecstatic to finally get out on the field and try out that new outfield turf, but I’m just really confused as well. I mean just look at the weather for this week… from the 30s to the 50s and then back down to the 20s again? What? Why can’t Cornell be in the south? Please?

I might as well enjoy it while I can–it’ll probably be the last day like this until, oh I don’t know, April? May? That might be a bit of an exaggeration, but still. Yay warm weather!

But damn, I really should have checked off #16 on the 161 Things. Today would have been the perfect day.

5 Comments on “Go home Ithaca, you’re drunk.”

  1. Well, after being down to -35 last week, it is now 52 degrees according to the too bar on my lap top. Of course, it once again feels like their are hurricane force winds out there determined to knock down my house…Maine weather just can’t be normal…

  2. South Dakota was the same way. I remember one day it was snowing and freezing and by the end of the day it was 75 degrees out.

    • samantha045 says:

      It’s frustrating! I’m always either over-dressed or under-dressed for the day… simply checking the weather before I go outside isn’t enough. What’s the deal with that?!


Leave a Reply

