There’s a first time for everything…

So this week’s two-day break is brought to you courtesy of… the flu. That’s right, ladies and gentlemen, what I can only believe to be the influenza virus paid a little visit to yours truly.

Fun times, man.

Fun times, man.

I seem to have caught some kind of bug–don’t let this post deceive you either; I’m still pretty sick. But did I go to the school’s health facility? Nope. My Momma’s a nurse so she helped me out from four hours away. Told me what to buy, what to take, when to take it. I trust my mom over Cornell–I mean, they ask guys if they’re pregnant when they come in for a visit. Come on now, people. PLUS, why would I want to be over charged for meds when I can get the same exact thing at Target for like 9 times cheaper?

Anyway, so about this whole “there’s a first time for everything” thing. I don’t think I’ve ever had the flu, but this is certainly the worst I’ve experienced it if I have. No. What I’m talking about is being sick at school. This is the first time I have been really, really sick at school. Like away from home without my mommy to take care of me. And despite the fact that I was running a 102+ fever, hacked up my lungs on a regular basis, and used enough tissues to teepee a house (all of those things are AWFUL by the way), there were a few good things.

1. I got to lay in bed all day. I’ve always loved doing that. One of my favorite pastimes. Minus all the mucus and sweating, of course.

Yay for frostbite!

Yay for frostbite!

2. Because I was in my apartment, I didn’t have to venture into the frozen tundra that was Ithaca this week. What a lovely week to come back for the first week of classes! Yesterday it felt like -14 with wind chill, I wonder what will be next!

3. No make up or worrying about my hair. What a glorious feeling. I didn’t have to look good for anyone (not that I would have if I had tried–being sick does that). But theres something about not having to worry about watching my make up off or the grease in my hair that is just so damn appealing.

4. I DIDN’T HAVE TO WEAR A BRA. Girls, I know you get me on this one.

5. I can start watching new TV shows/catch up. All I’ve been doing is forcing fluids and watching Breaking Bad on Netflix.

The worst thing that sucks about being sick at school? That my mommy isn’t here to take care of me. It’s really awful to have to get up and get more water or acetaminophen when you’re shivering from a fever and then have to walk on the cold tile floor. Ugh, makes me shiver.

Being sick sucks. I actually wish–shocking, I know–that I had been able to go to class. A few of my classes are quite small and missing them probably didn’t leave my professors a good impression. But if I can’t look at the bright side while I feel terrible, what else do I have? Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have some Breaking Bad to watch.

9 Comments on “There’s a first time for everything…”

  1. Get well soon. I had the flu for almost three weeks. Caught it right before Christmas and it lasted through my birthday. What a wonderful holiday treat! :)

  2. Shareen says:

    Hope you get well soon! Enjoyed reading this!


Leave a Reply

